Swashbuckling batter Sachin Dhas and captain Uday Saharan staged India's epic comeback in the first semi-final of the ICC U-19 World Cup 2024 against hosts South Africa on Tuesday.

Launching an all-out attack on the Proteas bowlers, Dhas teamed up with skipper Saharan to rescue Team India from a top-order collapse in the penultimate clash of the ICC event.

While captain Uday played the role of an anchor, explosive batter Sachin demolished the Proteas bowlers with his stroke-filled knock in the semi-final.

The final will played on February 11 and India who have won the title the most number of times are the front-runners to lift the cup.

India have participated in 10 U19 World Cups since 1998 and won the title four times and finished runners-up twice. Here is a list of the players who have led India in the 10 World Cups.

Some of the captains went on to become greats some others have faded away. Out of the lot Kohli, emerged as the biggest success story. He led India to their second U19 World Cup title in 2008 by winning the final against South Africa. Kohli became an overnight star. He got an IPL contract the same year.

Mohammad Kaif: In the second edition of the U19 World Cup, India emerged as the champions. The tournament was hosted in Sri Lanka and under the captaincy of Kaif, won their maiden title. Playing the final against Sri Lanka, India cruised to a six-wicket win and Yuvraj Singh was named as the player of the tournament.

After Virat Kohli, another Delhi player led India to U19 World Cup title. This time it was Chand who was the captain of the Indian U19 team that won the title by beating Australia. Chand became the third Indian captain to win the title.

Prithvi Shaw led India to a famous win under the guidance of Rahul Dravid. The Mumbai cricketer had already made waves in the domestic circuit by scoring tons of runs in age-group cricket. Before captaining India in the U19 World Cup.

The last Indian captain to win the U19 World Cup was Yash Dhull. He showed his mettle in the semi-final against Australia by scoring an impressive hundred.