'Samruddhi Highway was conceived 22 years ago, when Vilasrao Deshmukh was Chief Minister,' says Devendra Fadanvis

By Lokmat English Desk | Published: January 31, 2023 07:47 PM2023-01-31T19:47:51+5:302023-01-31T19:47:51+5:30


Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the first phase of the Samruddhi Highway, which has been in the news for the past several days, with Devendra Fadnavis, the deputy chief minister of the state.

Since then, transportation between the two cities of Nagpur and Shirdi on the Samruddhi Highway has also been started and the Samruddhi Highway is an important contributor to the development of Maharashtra. 

After inaugurating the Samruddhi Highway, PM Narendra Modi praised Chief Minister Eknath Shinde and Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.

Devendra Fadnavis introduced the concept of the Samruddhi Highway in the year 2000. After 22 years, the highway has become a reality, and now there is also the movement of passengers.

Connectivity is important for the development of Vidarbha. That is why, in the 2000 assembly, he proposed a Nagpur-Mumbai expressway. 

Vilasrao Deshmukh was the chief minister at that time. He said that he was currently building a road and that we should think about it in the future, Fadnavis recalled the concept of this highway. 

"When I got the opportunity to work as chief minister, I decided to make this Nagpur-Mumbai Samruddhi Highway." "This is not just a road, but I came up with this concept to take the development of the JNPT port to the farthest possible extent," Fadnavis said.

Through this highway, the work of connecting 10 districts directly and 14 districts indirectly has been done. Fadnavis also said that this road works to create economic value.

Meanwhile, the deputy chief minister himself had driven the car on the first phase of the 520-km stretch of the Mumbai-Nagpur highway. At that time, chief minister Eknath Shinde was also sitting on the side seat.

The 710-km-long super expressway will pass through Nagpur-Wardha-Amravati-Washim-Buldhana-Jalna-Aurangabad-Nashik-Ahmednagar-Thane.