Magdalena Andersson elected as Prime Minister of Sweden and reigns in a day,So here's the top 5 shortest serving leaders of India

By Lokmat English Desk | Published: November 25, 2021 04:08 PM2021-11-25T16:08:52+5:302022-01-14T18:09:18+5:30


The co-founder of BJP Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the 10th President of India. The leader served the country in three terms but in his first term, he served India for just 16days from 16 May 1996 to 1 June 1996.

The Leader who started his political career from the Independent movement and was the 5th Prime Minister of India Charan Singh served the nation only for 170days from 28 July 1979 to 14 January 1980.

Chandra Shekhar Singh was a member of the Samajwadi Janata Party. He was the 8th Prime Minister of India and served the nation for 223 days from 10 November 1990 to 21 June 1991. During his rule, India was facing an Economic crisis and he was the first Indian Prime Minister who has never held any Government office.

Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda was the 11th Prime Minister of India and was a member of the Janata Dal. He served from 1 June 1996 to 21 April 1997 for 324days.

Inder Kumar Gujral was the 12th Prime Minister of India. He was a member of the Indian National Congress and later joined Janata Dal. He served the nation from 21 April 1997 to 19 March 1998. just for 332 days.